9 Jan 2012

Fours champions crowned at National bowls champs

4:26 pm on 9 January 2012

The Johnsonville bowler Mandy Boyd has lost her third final at the national championships after Sue Burnand's composite lost to Carole Fredrick's Birkenhead team in the women's fours final in Auckland.

Boyd, was also runner up in the women's singles and pairs.

Fredrick led her team of Ruth Lynch, Gayle Melrose and Lisa Helmling to an 18-16 defeat of Burnand, Mandy Boyd, Angela Boyd and Leanne Curry.

In the men's fours final, the composite team of Andrew Kelly (s), Ali Forsyth, Blake Signal and Greg Ruaporo claimed the national title after an 18-6 victory over Avondale's Neville Hill (s), Mike Bradshaw, Colin Haysham and Brett Hassall.