16 Jan 2012

Peterhansel wins dakar Rally

5:34 am on 16 January 2012

The French driver Stephane Peterhansel has won an unprecedented 10th Dakar Rally title after the 14th and final stage was won by American Robby Gordon.

The Mini driver was previously a three-time car winner and six-time motorcycle champion in the gruelling rally.

The motorbike category was won by Frenchman Cyril Despres on a KTM, who came through the stage unscathed to finish ahead of Marc Coma, whose wrong turn on yesterday's stage handed his rival a clear run to the title.