7 Jun 2013

Ahuwhenua Trophy celebrates 80 years

8:49 pm on 7 June 2013

The prestigous Ahuwhenua Trophy for excellence in Maori Farming will be awarded on Friday - marking the competition's 80th anniversary.

Three groups are up for the beef and sheep award, to be given at a ceremony in Napier.

They are the Te Uranga B2 Incorporation, Tarawera Station and Te Hape Station.

Dating back to 1933, the algricultural contest is the oldest in the country.

Chair of the management committee Kingi Smiler says the longevity of the competition reflects the commitment Maori farmers have as kaitiaki of their lands for future generations.

This is also the first time the Ahuwhenua Young Maori Farmer award celebrates young sheep and beef farmers.