8 Aug 2011

Waikato-Tainui executive reaffirms Morgan as chair

9:26 pm on 8 August 2011

The executive board of Waikato-Tainui has reaffirmed Tukoroirangi Morgan as its chair despite a vote which his critics said ousted him from the iwi's board and parliament.

Representatives from more than 60 marae which form the parliament Te Kauhanganui voted on a resolution to remove Mr Morgan during a meeting at Hopuhopu, near Ngaruawahia, on Saturday.

The chair of Te Kauhanganui, Tania Martin, says the vote disqualified Mr Morgan from the parliament and the board.

Mrs Martin released a report last year alleging excessive spending by the governance board.

The board's acting chair, Patience Te Ao, says 50% of marae had to vote to get rid of Mr Morgan and that threshold was not met.

Ms Te Ao says a legal review sought by the board supports that view and hopes this will bring the matter to a close.