31 Aug 2011

Two new appointees to join Waitangi Tribunal

6:59 pm on 31 August 2011

Maori Affairs Minister Pita Sharples has announced the names of two new members to fill vacancies at the Waitangi Tribunal.

The pair are Ronald Crosby and Kaa Williams, who will join eight other members who have been reappointed to run Tribunal hearings.

Mr Crosby has an extensive background in practising law, specialising in Maori interests in resource management.

Mrs Williams has three decades of experience teaching te reo Maori and received the Queen's Service Order for services to Maori in 2009.

Dr Sharples says Mr Crosby and Mrs Williams join reappointed members who include Dr Monty Soutar, Kihi Ngatai and Basil Morrison.

The 10 elected members bring a wide range of skills and backgrounds, which allows the chair of the Tribunal to match the member with a claim covering their area of expertise.

Each member serves a term of three years.