28 Nov 2011

Horomia takes lion's share of votes

6:34 am on 28 November 2011

Of the seven Maori seats in the 2011 general election, Labour's Parekura Horomia had the most convincing win, holding his Ikaroa-Rawhiti seat with a majority of 5924 votes over the Maori Party candidate, Na Raihania.

The other safe Labour seat, Hauraki-Waikato, was retained by Nanaia Mahuta, with a lead of 5373 over her nearest rival, Angeline Greensill, who stood for the Mana Party.

Maori Party whip Te Ururoa Flavell kept his Waiariki seat, coming in 1820 votes ahead of Mana party candidate Annette Sykes.

However, in Te Tai Tokerau, Mana Party leader Hone Harawira was closely followed by Labour's Kelvin Davis, with 874 votes separating the two.

And Maori party co-leader Pita Sharples just scraped in Tamaki Makaurau, with Labour candidate, Shane Jones, just 746 votes behind.

Tariana Turia kept her Te Tai Hauauru seat for the Maori Party by 2,760 votes more than the Labour candidate, Soraya Peke-Mason.

The only Maori seat to change hands on election night was Te Tai Tonga, with Labour's Rino Tirikatene continuing his family legacy by taking the seat off the Maori Party MP, Rahui Katene, with a majority of 1,445.