14 Feb 2012

Beneficiaries not happy with previous Te Arataura new member says

7:01 pm on 14 February 2012

One of the new members of the Waikato-Tainui executive, in which Tukoroirangi Morgan was not re-elected, says the recent vote shows beneficiaries weren't entirely happy with the previous committee.

The election for Te Arataura members was held at the weekend near Ngaruawahia.

Rahui Papa, Kingi Porima, Rukumoana Schaafhausen, Sonny Wilson and Paki Rawiri have retained their seats.

The newcomers for the next three-year term are Hemi Rau, Marae Tukere, Tipa Mahuta and Tom Roa.

A former tribal parliament chief executive, Mr Rau, says Sunday's election showed descendants wanted a change to the previous committee.

He says it seemed as though the former committee didn't meet the people's expectations, because money wasn't going where it should have been.