18 Oct 2010

More areas declared natural disaster zones in NSW

8:30 am on 18 October 2010

The New South Wales state government has declared more areas in the Riverina and the state's south-west as natural disaster zones as conditions ease in flooded areas.

The State Emergency Service is monitoring towns and communities south of Wagga Wagga that border Billabong Creek after sandbagging properties in the area, but says the worst of the flooding is over.

Sandbagging and levies were reported to be holding the floodwaters in place.

Emergency Services Minister Steve Whan said there has been severe damage to properties and infrastructure in many towns.

The ABC reports that farmers in the south-west of the state say they have received more rain than they bargained for.

Urana Mayor Peter Routley says as much as 225mm of rain has fallen in the last five days around Lockhart.

"A week ago we were looking at the crops and said we wanted a rain to finish them," he said.

"We certainly got what we asked for - but about 10 times too much."