7 Jun 2009

Final round of EU voting underway

1:42 pm on 7 June 2009

Voters in 19 EU countries are casting ballots in the final round of the election for the European Parliament.

A number of nations - including Britain, Ireland, the Netherlands and the Czech Republic - have already voted.

The BBC reports a total of 736 seats in the European Parliament are at stake.

The voting schedule is:

Thursday: UK and Netherlands

Friday: Ireland, Czech Republic

Saturday: Latvia, Cyprus, Malta, Slovakia, Italy and Czech Republic

Sunday: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden