11 Oct 2009

Holden drivers win Bathurst

8:11 pm on 11 October 2009

The Holden drivers Garth Tander and Will Davison have won the Bathurst 1000, overcoming a variety of weather conditions to win Australia's best-known V8 Supercar race.

Tander and Davison led for the majority of the 161-lap, 1,000km race around Mount Panorama.

But they also had a late slice of luck when a safety car period with 20 laps remaining elevated them from third to first as the two leading cars were forced to pit and lose track position.

Jason Richards and Cameron McConville finished second, with Lee Holdsworth and Michael Caruso third.