3 Oct 2011

Daylight saving now in effect in parts of Australia

8:36 am on 3 October 2011

Clocks have been moved forward by an hour for daylight saving in New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and the ACT.

Daylight saving began at 2am (AEST) on Sunday and will end on Sunday, 1 April. Until then, Australia will have five time zones.

The ABC reports daylight saving is not observed in Queensland, the Northern Territory or Western Australia.