26 Jul 2002

Six Tuvalu MPs lose seat in Thursday's election

12:25 pm on 26 July 2002

Tuvalu's prime minister, Koloa Talaki, is one of six sitting MPs who lost their seat in yesterday's election for a new 15-member assembly.

Mr Talaki lost his seat on Vaitupu island as did the island's other MP.

The speaker, Toumu Sione, was also voted out in the one-day poll as was the works minister.

A new prime minister is to be elected next week, with one of the contenders being Bikenibeu Paeniu who was prime minister in the late 1990's.

Tuvalu has no party system

Seven of the eight islands have two MPs in parliament each.