29 May 2003

Nauru MPs finally decide on a government after a month long impasse

6:47 pm on 29 May 2003

Nauru has a new President and speaker of parliament.

Ludwig Scotty, who was a minister in the last government, beat a former president Kinza Clodumar for the presidency, 10 votes to 7.

Fabian Ribauw, a newly elected MP from the Nauru First party was chosen as the Speaker with Kieren Keke as his deputy.

The Clerk of Parliament, Freddie Cain, says the elections come after a series of failed attempts because of an impasse among the 18 MPs unwilling to put forward nominations for the speakers role.

The 18 MPs were divided into three equal factions.

But Mr Cain says most of the MPs decided upon a compromise to ensure that Nauru has a government.

"There are three factions, out of those three factions, two factions decided to get together and elect a speaker as well as the president. One led by former government and president Derog Gioura and the other faction led by David Adeang."

Now we can hopefully get on with the job and the budget is coming up in the second week in June.

Mr Cain says the president is expected to announce his cabinet in the next few days.