13 Jul 2006

Five Fiji Labour Party members to be disciplined for questioning Mahendra Chaudhry's style

6:19 pm on 13 July 2006

The Fiji Labour Party president, Jokapeci Koroi, has ordered disciplinary action against five senior party members who have questioned Mahendra Chaudhry's autocratic decision making style and senate nominations.

The five are deputy leader Poseci Bune and vice president Krishna Datt both of whom are cabinet ministers, backbenchers Felix Anthony and Agni Deo Singh, and former Senator Dr Atu Emberson Bain.

All five also comprise a majority in the Labour Party's management board.

In a statement, Mrs Koroi says the five have breached party rules and brought disrepute to the party.

She says she has written to the five informing them of her decision and has instructed that proper formalities be instituted to commence disciplinary action against them.

Mrs Koroi says the group had flouted the rules of the party by calling a management board meeting themselves to approve their own list of senate nominees in defiance of the party leader.

She says a meeting of Labour's national council will be called to deal with the disciplinary action once the formalities are complete.