19 Sep 2006

Northern Marianas exempts some employees from short working week

8:25 am on 19 September 2006

About 600 government employees in the Northern Marianas have been exempted from the austerity holiday law, which cuts government workers' pay by 10 percent.

The list of exempted employees includes 369 from the Department of Public

Health, 80 from the Department of Corrections, 34 from the Department of Community and Cultural Affairs, 17 from the Department of Public Works, and 15 from the Division of Environmental Quality.

Also exempted are 30 immigration officers, 19 attorneys general, seven communications operators from the Emergency Management Office, five assistant public defenders, and three rangers.