30 Nov 2006

Papua New Guinea big winners in the East Asia Pacific side

8:02 am on 30 November 2006

The Papua New Guinea cricketers are the big winners in the East Asia - Pacific team to play at the Australian Country Cricket Championships in Mildura Victoria in January 2007.

Twelve players from Papua New Guinea return from last year including Rarua Dikana who will captain the side, with one from Fijian and one Japanese who makes his debut.

Missing from last season's squad are Cook Islanders Chris Brown and Dunu Eliaba who were both unavailable for selection.

The ACCC comprises five two-day games played over a twelve day period, and includes state country teams from Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland, Western Australia and South Australia. Queensland won the 2006 title held in Mandurah, Western Australia.

The EAP squad for the ACCC is:

Rarua Dikana (PNG - Captain) Arua Uda (PNG)

Hitolo Areni (PNG) Tikovanualevu Kida (Fiji)

Inoa Baeau (PNG) Jamie Brazier (PNG)

Assad Vala (PNG) Tatsuro Chino (Japan)

Mahuru Dai (PNG) Gimapau Keimelo (PNG)

Andrew Mansale (Vanuatu) Ipi Morea (PNG)

John Ovia (PNG) Kitione Tavo (Fiji)