18 Jun 2007

French Pacific voters elect new members to French assembly

10:54 am on 18 June 2007

Voters in the French Pacific territories have been voting over the weekend to elect their members to a new 577-strong French assemblyI

Results from Wallis and Futuna show that socialist Albert Likuvalu, a former professor, has defeated incumbent UMP member, Victor Brial.

In New Caledonia the UMP retained its representation in the assembly with Gael Yanno and Pierre Frogier defeating the two FLNKS candidates.

The UMP backed Tahoeraa Huiraatira Party candidates, Michel Buillard and Bruno Sandras won seats in the assembly defeating the two Union For Democracy candidates, Oscar Temaru and Pierre Frebault.