8 Aug 2007

Cook Islands National Energy Committee members to be officially appointed later this month

7:48 pm on 8 August 2007

The Cook Islands government is expected to officially appoint members of the new National Energy Committee later this month.

The Director of the Energy Division, Mata Nooroa says the names of people have been forwarded to the Minister, Tagata Vavia, and are awaiting his approval before being made public.

Mr Nooroa says his division is currently gathering wind data for the islands of Rarotonga and Aitutaki.

He says they also plan to begin collecting wind data from Atiu, Mitiaro and Mauke by the end of this year.

"Government is really committed to renewable energy, mainly wind and solar. This is the committee that will look into any projects that are going to be implemented to make sure that the projects are feasible and functional."