1 Sep 2007

44 Kiribati MPs chosen - election of president pending

11:38 am on 1 September 2007

All 44 seats in the Kiribati parliament have now been declared after two rounds of voting.

It is not clear who will take control of the government with a number of the new MPs yet to declare their allegiance.

But veteran MP and former President Ieremia Tabai, who is part of the incumbent President Anote Tong's BTK party, says he believes the poll was generally good for the government.

"Because we can identify most of the newcomers and I suspect most of them will go to the Government's side. It's still very fluid but I am optimistic that many will go the government's side."

Parliament will meet early next month to nominate up to four of the MPs for President with a popular vote to be held, probably in October.