12 Aug 2008

New Zealand and Samoa shortlisted for IRB players of the year

10:00 am on 12 August 2008

New Zealand Sevens rugby captain D J Forbes is one of the nominees for the IRB Sevens Player of the Year to be announced in London on November 23.

Forbes, captained his team to a record 47 games undefeated.

The New Zealander is joined in the shortlist by Samoa captain Uale Mai, the most capped Sevens player of all time and the recipient of the award in 2006, and South Africa's veteran star Fabian Juries.