11 Dec 2008

Senegal and Mexico win access to Pacific fishery

3:02 pm on 11 December 2008

Members of the Tuna Commission, which has been meeting in South Korea, have agreed to links to the organisation for two new foreign fishing nations.

Both Senegal and Mexico have been granted Cooperative Non Member status which gives them access to the fishery.

Ecuador has not been given the same status after objections from the United States, which is a member of the Commission, but it can still fish under its current licence in Kiribati.

Indonesia continues its CNM status for another year, as does Belize.

El Salvador has been granted the same standing following confirmation it would fish using only 2 purse seiners under the rules of the Commission.