29 Jun 2009

August 6th set for by-election for four MPs in Vanuatu's Efate Rural constituency

3:25 pm on 29 June 2009

Vanuatu's Electoral Commission has announced August the 6th as the date for the by-election for the four vacant parliamentary seats for Efate Rural constituency.

This follows the removal of four MPs from Efate Rural earlier this month, after a Supreme Court ruling found they had either used inducements to win their seats, or had won due to electoral irregularities.

The MPs - the former Foreign Affairs Minister Pakoa Kaltonga, Joshua Kalsakau, Alfred Carlot and Roro Sambo - are reportedly free to stand in the by-election because prosecutors have given no sign that any of the MPs will face criminal charges.