3 Mar 2010

Taiwan's president to visit six Pacific countries

11:10 am on 3 March 2010

The President of Taiwan, Ma Ying-jeou, will visit six Pacific island nations this month and stop over twice in US territory.

The six countries, which have diplomatic ties with Taiwan, are Kiribati, Nauru, the Marshall Islands, Palau, Solomon Islands and Tuvalu.

Mr Ma will discuss with his counterparts agriculture, solar energy and long-term development.

The intinerary will include two stops on Guam amid concern that China may express its objections to his plane refuelling on US-controlled soil.