11 Apr 2011

Samoa win cricket title

10:28 am on 11 April 2011

Samoa are the ICC East Asia-Pacific Division Two champions after an emphatic nine-wicket win over the Philippines in Saturday's final in Apia.

Winston Mariner bagged five wickets with the ball before the tournament's leading run scorer, Ben Mailata, notched an impressive 107 not out, ensuring he finished the tournament without being dismissed.

The victory moves Samoa up into EAP Division One and also qualifies them to play in a tournament in Papua New Guinea in July.