25 Apr 2011

New look Vanuatu government sworn in

2:28 pm on 25 April 2011

The new Prime Minister of Vanuatu, Serge Vohor, has announced his new cabinet, which includes a woman.

Mr Vohor was elected to succeed Sato Kilman after a successful vote of no confidence motion during an extra-ordinary session of parliament on Easter Sunday.

This is the Union of Moderates Party leader's fourth time as prime minister.

His new cabinet features Joshua Kalsakau of the Labour Party as Deputy Prime Minister, Vanua'aku Pati veterans Joe Natuman and Sela Molisa as Ministers of Foreign Affairs and Trade respectively.

The only female MP in Vanuatu's parliament, Eta Rory, an Independent MP, has been given the Agriculture portfolio.

The VP's Bakoa Kaltongga has been given the Finance portfolio and Willie Reuben Abel, also from the VP, takes on Health.

The Lands Ministry goes to Dominique Morin of the Vanuatu Republican Party, Internal Affairs to Patrick Crowby of the National United Party, and Education to Charlot Salwai of Mr Vohor's UMP party.

The new Justice Minister is the Labour Party's Ioan Simon, who had been sacked from the portfolio last month over reports that hewas siding with theopposition to topple Mr Kilman.

Surprisingly, the mover of Sunday's motion, VP president Edward Natapei, who had been Prime Minister until last December when Mr Kilman moved a successful motion to remove him, has no ministerial portfolio.

Mr Natapei says he wants to give the young generation of politicians the opportunity to take over the nation's responsibilities.