30 May 2011

Pacific leaders meet with South Korea government

5:34 am on 30 May 2011

Foreign Ministers from thirteen Pacific island countries are today being hosted by the government of South Korea for the first Korea-Pacific Islands Foreign Ministers' Meeting.

The list of invited countries include Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Nauru, Tuvalu, Micronesia, Tonga, Palau, Cook Islands, Kiribati, and Niue.

The South Korea government says the focus for the one day meeting is on development cooperation, environmental protection and climate change.

The IT Times reports that the Pacific ministers will also visit some of Korea's major industrial facilities and cultural complexes.

On the sidelines of the summit, the Korean Foreign Minister Kim Sung-hwan will hold a bilateral meeting with Papua New Guinea and Fiji foreign ministers.

With the Marshall Islands, Cook Islands and Vanuatu, he'll sign a memorandum of understanding on an exchange of tax information.