25 Jul 2012

Fiji Constitutional Commission sworn in

12:46 pm on 25 July 2012

The five members of Fiji's Constitutional Commission have been sworn in by the acting President and Chief Justice Anthony Gates this morning.

The Chairperson, Professor Yash Ghai, Penelope Moore, Professor Christina Murray, Taufa Vakatale and Dr Satendra Nandan took their oath in the Suva High Court.

Fiji Village reports that while addressing the members after the swearing in, Justice Gates, who is Australian, said today marks another significant step for Fiji along the path back to constitutionality and to reform.

He says he trusts the members will pay due respect to the views and aspirations of all of Fiji's people.

The acting Prime Minister and Attorney General Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum, the Director of Public Prosecutions, Christopher Pryde, and the Land Force Commander, Colonel Mosese Tikoitoga, were also present at the ceremony.