30 Jul 2012

Counting complete in 87 PNG electorates

10:35 am on 30 July 2012

Results have been declared in 87 of the 111 electorates in Papua New Guinea's general election.

The Triumph Heritage Empowerment party's Akmat Mai has won the West Sepik provincial seat, beating incumbent Simon Solo.

It's the party's tenth win, coming hours after another member, Mark Maipakai retained his seat, the Kikori Open electorate in Gulf Province.

The People's National Congress is still far in front as the party with the most electorates, twenty, and could win up to six more.

Representatives of several other political parties have assembled at the PNC's camp in Alotau where it has announced it has the numbers to govern in a coalition

with PNC leader Peter O'Neill as Prime Minister.

The parties involved include the THE party, and the National Alliance of former Prime Minister Sir Michael Somare.

The PNG Party of Belden Namah, who was deputy Prime Minister under Peter O'Neill leading up to the election, has won five seats and is one of the few main parties remaining outside the PNC-led coalition at this point.

Local media is reporting Peter O'Neill as saying Mr Namah's party will not be invited to join the coalition.