11 Feb 2013

Temaru names Tahiti's UN decolonisation sponsors

5:13 am on 11 February 2013

French Polynesia's president, Oscar Temaru, has named the three countries which he says have sponsored his government's bid at the United Nations to reinscribe French Polynesia on the decolonisation list.

Mr Temaru says with the help of Tuvalu, Nauru and Solomon Islands, the resolution is on the UN General Assembly agenda for debate, possibly as soon as next week.

However, the opposition's Gaston Flosse, who is for the status quo, says he has been advised by Paris that there is no such item on the UN agenda.

France took French Polynesia off the UN decolonisation list in 1947 but allowed New Caledonia to be re-enlisted after the unrest of the 1980s.

Still on the list are among others Guam, American Samoa, Tokelau and Pitcairn island.