13 Mar 2013

Motion of no-confidence in Vanuatu Government lodged

9:08 am on 13 March 2013

Vanuatu's opposition has deposited a motion of no confidence in the Prime Minister Sato Kilman with the Office of the Speaker of Parliament.

The opposition says the motion was signed by 16 of the 51 active members of parliament.

If the speaker rules the motion is in order, it is expected to be debated next Tuesday.

The Kilman coalition government claims to have 33 MPs following the defection of six members of the opposition in the past week.