25 Apr 2013

Three unchanged lists line up for Tahiti's run-off poll

4:39 am on 25 April 2013

The three French Polynesian parties qualified for next month's run-off in the territorial election say they have retained the same candidates for the May the 5th vote.

The Tahoeraa Huiraatira, the Union For Democracy and the A Tia Porinetia are the three to clear the 12.5 percent hurdle but they all say they won't enter into any pre-election alliance in the contest for the assembly's 57 seats.

The Tahoeraa leader, Gaston Flosse, who was the big winner of the first round, says with the 19 bonus seats available for the most successful list, he hopes to secure up to 40 seats.

The Union For Democracy of Oscar Temaru, which secured 24 percent of the vote, has been evoking the series of corruption convictions of Gaston Flosse.

The A Tia Porinetia of Teva Rohfritsch says it is still a contest it can win, given the high level of abstentions in the first round and the many voters whose first round choice has been eliminated.