18 May 2013

Flosse elected as French Polynesia president for fifth time

10:16 am on 18 May 2013

The French Polynesian assembly has elected the veteran politician, Gaston Flosse, as the territory's president for a five-year term.

The 81-year of leader of the Tahoeraa Huiraatira Party was elected with 38 votes in the 57-member assembly - 12 days after his party triumphed in the territorial election.

He defeated the two other candidates, Antony Geros of the Union For Democracy and Teva Rohfritsch of the A Tia Porinetia.

Mr Flosse has named Nuihau Laurey as his vice-president and confirmed the choice of his eight-member government, which includes only one woman.

Mr Flosse has been elected to the top post for the fifth time, replacing Oscar Temaru, who has been in New York for the UN session putting French Polynesia back on the decolonisation list.

After being convicted to a prison sentence for corruption this year, Mr Flosse risks losing his office this year, should the highest court in France reject his appeal.