20 May 2013

Sport: Auckland City retain O-League title, qualify for Club World Cup

10:26 am on 20 May 2013

Auckland City made history as the first team to win three straight Oceania Champions League football titles, after beating Waitakere United 2-1 in Sunday's grand final at Mount Smart Stadium.

In the seventh meeting between the two teams this season, all the scoring came in the first half - with Adam Dickinson and Alex Feneridis putting Auckland on the board, before Waitakere responded through Chad Coombes.

City coach Ramon Tribulietx says getting on top early was crucial.

"We had a great start actually, we dominated, we had two or three arrivals in there. I don't want to say we were lucky but the game was fair with us and we put those two away. Then after that, maybe the last ten minutes they had a bit of momentum and that's when they scored. We knew that the second half was going to be very long, and it's been very long actually. We stuck in there, we defended when we had to defend, when we could havethe ball we had it and I think we played a professional game today basically."

Auckland City's O-League title defence wins them a place at December's Club World Cup in Morocco and a minimum pay check of 500 thousand US dollars.