24 May 2013

Nauru election day confirmed as June 22nd

6:38 am on 24 May 2013

Saturday June the 22nd has been confirmed as election day on Nauru ending months of political inaction marked by MPs frequently boycotting parliament, so denying the body a quorum.

The Speaker, Godfrey Thoma, dissolved parliament on Thursday after yet another abandoned session due to the lack of a quorum.

Nomination day is June the 8th with the electoral roll to close on June the 1st.