10 Oct 2013

Sport: Toa Samoa name World Cup squad

10:24 am on 10 October 2013

Samoa have become one of the final nations to unveil their Rugby League World Cup squad.

South Sydney prop Roy Asotasi will captain the Toa team, with St George Ilawarra wing Daniel Vidot, Parramatta duo Ben Roberts and Reni Maitua and Newcastle Knights backrower David Faalogo part of a strong NRL contingent.

St Helens' former Kiwis centre Iosia Soliola and Wigan second rower Harrison Hansen are the only players selected from the European Super League.

Samoa based trio Faleniu Iosi, Ionatana Tino and Teofilo Lepou have also been included, along with New Zealand-based Residents pair Arden McCarthy and Eddy Purcell.

Full squad:

Roy Asotasi (South Sydney Rabbitohs), David Fa'alogo (Newcastle Knights), Pita Godinet (New Zealand Warriors), Harrison Hansen (Wigan Warriors), Masada Iosefa (Wests Tigers), Faleniu Iosi (Letava Bulldogs), Tim Lafai (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Joseph Leilua (Newcastle Knights), Teofilo Lepou (Marist Saints), Reni Maitua (Parramatta Eels), Penani Manumeasili (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Mose Masoe (Penrith Panthers), Suaia Matagi (New Zealand Warriors), Arden McCarthy (Point Chevalier Pirates), Anthony Milford (Canberra Raiders), Junior Moors (Melbourne Storm), Edward Purcell (New Zealand Warriors), Ben Roberts (Parramatta Eels), Iosia Soliola (St Helens), Sauaso Sue (Wests Tigers), Mark Taufua (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Ionatana Tino (Apia Barracudas), Daniel Vidot (St George Illawarra Dragons), Antonio Winterstein (Brisbane Broncos)