17 Apr 2014

Winner of a crucial Niue seat decided

9:21 am on 17 April 2014

The winner of a crucial seat to determine who will be Niue's next Premier has been selected after the name was drawn from a hat from electoral officials and commissioners of the High Court.

The Toi village seat results were tied, with the two candidates, sitting MP Dion Taufitu and teacher Mokaelalini Vaha, receiving 10 votes each.

The name of Dion Taufitu, a Toke Talagi supporter for several terms, was drawn from the hat.

Meanwhile, two contenders for the leadership of the Niue Legislative Assembly are confident of support in the first sitting of 20 member Parliament.

Top scorer in the common roll vote at the weekend, prominent businessman Stanley Kalauni will challenge sitting premier Toke Talagi and both are claiming they have the numbers to secure the top job.

Spokesman for the Kalauni faction, MP Terry Coe said last night his group had 10 supporters while Mr Talagi said he had 11.

Mr Talagi said his Cabinet line up is likely to be the same and Mr Coe said Mr Kalauni will present a team be it in the government benches or as the Opposition.