13 May 2014

Sport: Samoa captain Lili'I named player of tournament

9:17 am on 13 May 2014

Samoan captain Regina Lili'I has been named player of the tournament and captain of the tournament team following the completion of the East Asia Pacific Women's Cricket Trophy.

Lili'I amassed 119 runs at an average of 39.66 and also took 10 wickets at an average of 7.8 as Samoa finished third behind Papua New Guinea and hosts Japan.

The leading wicket taker at the event was PNG's Boni David who claimed 11 victims while Ema Kuribayashi of Japan was the leading run scorer with 183 runs.

PNG boast the most players in the team of the tournament with six, while Samoa with four and Japan with two make up the remaining places.

Full team:

Regina Lili'I (Samoa) - Captain

Helen Buruka (PNG)

Boni David (PNG)

Kila Frank (PNG)

Ema Kuribayashi (Japan)

Mebo Ipi (PNG)

Lily Mulivai (Samoa)

Ayako Nakayama (Japan)

Tanya Ruma (PNG)

Pauke Siaka (PNG)

MJ Tuilagi (Samoa)

Nathalie Tuilagi (Samoa)