16 Jul 2014

Cook Islands poll result out on Friday

3:55 pm on 16 July 2014

The new Cook Islands government will not be known until July 18th when the finalised results of last week's election will be released.

Preliminary results show the Cook Islands Party having lost its majority, taking 10 seats, with the Democratic Party winning 11, the One Cook Islands Movement with two, and one seat tied.

But all the parties are saying the final count could tip the result either way.

The Chief Electoral Officer, Taggy Tangimetua, says six electorates have been confirmed with no changes to the preliminary results.

She says her staff are busy processing the remaining votes.

"Just over ten thousand registered, these include all those people who are now residing overseas. There are votes by declaration that need to be verified by the registrar. We will be scrutinising the rolls, doing the final count and after the count I will be issuing the warrants for the appointment of those candidates."

Taggy Tangimetua says they hope to finish scrutinising on July 17th and officially announce the winning candidates the next day.

The successful candidates for the 6 constituencies are as follows:

- George Maggie Angene as Member of Parliament for the Tupapa-Maraerenga Constituency (498 votes)

- Albert Taaviri Kaitara Nicholas as Member of Parliament for the Avatiu-Ruatonga Constituency (292 votes)

- Ngamau Mere Munokoa as Member of Parliament for the Nikao-Panama Constituency (417 votes)

- Selina Napa as Member of Parliament for the Titikaveka Constituency (337 votes)

- Tamaiva Tuavera as Member of Parliament for the Ngatangiia Constituency (257 votes)

- Kiriau Turepu as Member of Parliament for the Matavera Constituency (288 votes)