3 Jan 2015

American Samoa/Samoa to host OFC tournament

10:46 am on 3 January 2015

American Samoa and Samoa will co-host the OFC Men's Under 17 Championship, a FIFA qualifying tournament.

Eleven Pacific Island countries will compete in the two week long tournament that opens the 13th of January.

They are American Samoa, Samoa, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Cook Islands, New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Tahiti and Tonga.

OFC U-17

OFC U-17 Photo: OFC

Six teams make up Group 1 and they will play in Samoa while five teams comprise Group 2 will play in American Samoa.

The top two teams from Group 1 and 2 advance to the semi-finals and final to be held here in American Samoa on January the 24th.

According to the Football Federation of American Samoa, the teams will begin arriving next week.

This is the second time American Samoa has hosted the OFC Under 17 tournaments.