17 seats now declared in Bougainville

9:28 pm on 2 June 2015

More than half of the seats in the new Bougainville parliament have been declared.

By late Tuesday, 22 of the 39 seats had been finalised with a number of long standing members retaining their seats - among them former vice president, Patrick Nisira and finance minister, Albert Punghau.

In the presidential count John Momis, who has held the post for the past five years, is maintaining his substantial lead over second placed former Bougainville Revolutionary Army leader, Sam Kauona.