29 Oct 2015

New Solomons ministers sworn in

9:03 am on 29 October 2015
Solomon Islands Prime Minister, Manasseh Sogavare

Solomon Islands Prime Minister, Manasseh Sogavare Photo: RNZI

Seven new ministers have been sworn in to office in Solomon Islands in a move designed to save the government of Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare.

Six independent MPs signed up to Mr Sogavare's People's Alliance Party this week after seven of his MPs crossed the floor to the opposition side.

Mr Sogavare says his new MPs' actions are praiseworthy and in the national interest.

He also praised the reshuffled MPs, Stanley Sofu, Bartholomew Parapolo and William Marau, for accommodating the newcomers.

The new ministerial positions are:

  • Manasseh Maelanga, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Home Affairs
  • Jimmy Lusibaea, Minister of Infrastructure Development
  • Chris Laore, Minister of Forestry and Research
  • Elijah Doromuala, Minister of Commerce, Industries, Employment and Immigration.
  • David Tome, Minister of Provincial Government and Institutional Strengthening.
  • Moffet Fugui, Minister of Education and Human Resources
  • Moses Garu, Minister of Lands, Housing and Survey

The reshuffled government MPs are:

  • Stanley Sofu, reassigned to the Ministry of Police, National Security and Correctional Services
  • Bartholomew Parapolo, reassigned to the Ministry of Culture and Tourism
  • William Marau, moved to the Ministry of Justice and Legal Affairs

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs