Sport: Inglis to captain Australian PM's 13 in PNG

1:27 pm on 14 September 2016

Greg Inglis will captain a strong Australian squad against Papua New Guinea in the annual Prime Minister's 13 rugby league clash.

Semi Radradra, Josh Dugan and Blake Ferguson were also a part of the Kangaroos squad that beat New Zealand in May, while nine of the squad featured in this year's State of Origin.

Greg Inglis.

Greg Inglis. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Coach Mal Meninga has named six debutantes: with former Fiji international Radradra, James Tedesco, Mitchell Moses, Tyson Frizell, Josh Jackson and David Klemmer.

Meninga, a former PNG Kumuls coach, said the match at Port Moresby's National Football Stadium is an opportunity for players to push for selection ahead of the Four Nations tour at the end of this year and next year's Rugby League World Cup.

Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga, pictured here during the 2016 NRL Auckland Nines draw announcement in Auckland, Wednesday, 18 November 2015. Copyright photo: Andrew Cornaga /

Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga Photo: Photosport

"This is an outstanding squad. There are four representatives from the Test match against New Zealand and on top of that, no less than nine of the players were a part of Origin this year," he said.

"The PNG tours are some of the most enjoyable trips I have been on, but they are no holiday when you run onto the field. The PNG boys play a tough and energetic brand of football and they will be well backed by a huge crowd, all willing the home team on.

"Whenever you get the chance to visit and play rugby league in Port Moresby, it's a special experience and this game will be no different."

Australian squad:

1. James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)

2. Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)

3. Greg Inglis (c) (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

4. Josh Dugan (St George Illawarra Dragons)

5. Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)

6. Mitchell Moses (Wests Tigers)

7. Mitchell Pearce (Sydney Roosters)

8. Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

9. Jake Friend (Sydney Roosters)

10. Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)

11. Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)

12. Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons)

13. Josh Jackson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)


14. David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

15. Moses Mbye (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

16. Dylan Napa (Sydney Roosters)

17. Jake Trbojevic (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)

18. To be confirmed

Coach: Mal Meninga