14 Jan 2017

Sport: Pacific players lead EAP women to 2nd title

10:24 am on 14 January 2017

The East Asia-Pacific women's team has been crowned the Australian Country Cricket Champions for the second year in a row, with PNG players, Pauke Siaka and Norma Ovasuru guiding the team to an eight wicket victory over Victoria Country.

After winning the toss, EAP and PNG Captain, Pauke Siaka sent Victoria Country into bat at the University Oval in Wollongong.

After losing the round robin clash against the same opponent, the EAP fought back and restricted Victoria Country to 8/99 from their allotted 20 overs.

EAP team wins a 2nd consecutive Australian Country title in 2016/17

Photo: PNG Cricket

In reply EAP got off to a disastrous start in the chase, at one stage being 2/2.

Then PNG Lewas players Norma Ovasuru, (42 not out), and captain Siaka (41 not out), put on a third wicket unbetaten 98-run stand to guide EAP to victory with three overs to spare.

EAP men create history

The EAP men's team concluded their historical season in Australia, finishing with with three wins from ten matches.

The team, captained by Vanuatu's Andrew Mansale, had previously not won a match in three years of participating in the compeition.

The team beat Victoria, Western Australian and New South Wales during the ACCC.