29 Apr 2017

Sport: Samoa and Tonga name strong league sides

11:56 am on 29 April 2017

Samoa and Tonga have announced their squads ahead of next week's historic International Rugby League triple-header at Campbelltown Sports Stadium in Australia.

Some of the game's most exciting players feature in each of the line-ups, including Anthony Milford, Josh McGuire and Sam Kasiano for Toa Samoa, and Michael Jennings, Will Hopoate, Andrew Fifita and representing Mate Ma'a Tonga.

Anthony Milford

Brisbane Broncos star Anthony Milford will turn out for Samoa against England Photo: PHOTOSPORT

PNG will open proceedings in the first Test on May 6 when they take on the Cook Islands before traditional rivals Fiji and Tonga face off in the penultimate match of the evening.

Toa Samoa complete the triple-header when they take on England.

Tonga Coach Kristian Woolf said he was looking forward to the week ahead with calibre of players named in his squad.

Woolf said it is the first time since he had been involved [in 2015] that every player is coming straight from an elite NRL system, which he said is really exciting.

He said it would be the most talented group of players he had ever assembled.

Cronulla Sharks prop Andrew Fifita

Cronulla's Andrew Fifita is just one of the big names in the Tongan squad Photo: Photosport

Toa Samoa Squad

Leeson Ah Mau - St George Illawarra Dragons

John Asiata - North Queensland Cowboys

Fa'amanu Brown - Cronulla Sutherland Sharks

Herman Ese'ese - Brisbane Broncos

Sam Kasiano - Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

Tim Lafai - St George Illawarra Dragons

Joseph Leilua - Canberra Raiders

Isaac Liu - Sydney Roosters

Josh McGuire- Brisbane Broncos

Peter Mata'utia - Newcastle Knights

Sione Mata'utia - Newcastle Knights

Suaia Matagi - Parramatta Eels

Anthony Milford - Brisbane Broncos

David Nofoaluma - Wests Tigers

Kaysa Pritchard - Parramatta Eels

Sauaso Sue - Wests Tigers

Antonio Winterstein - North Queensland Cowboys

Mate Ma' Tonga Squad

1. Will Hopoate - Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

2. Daniel Tupou - Sydney Roosters

3. Brenko Lee - Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs

4. Michael Jennings - Parramatta Eels

5. Jorge Taufua - Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

6. Tuimoala Lolohea - New Zealand Warriors

7. Ata Hingano - New Zealand Warriors

8. Andrew Fifita - Cronulla Sutherland Sharks

9. Siliva Havili - St George Illawarra Dragons

10. Leilani Latu - Penrith Panthers

11. Sika Manu © - Hull FC

12. Felise Kaufusi - Melbourne Storm

13. Sio Siua Taukeiaho - Sydney Roosters

14. Sione Katoa - Penrith Panthers

15. Joe Ofahengaue - Brisbane Broncos

16. Siosaia Vave - Parramatta Eels

17. Addin Fonua-Blake - Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

18. Samisoni Langi - Penrith Panthers

19. Patrick Kaufusi - North Queensland Cowboys

20. Leivaha Pulu - Gold Coast Titans

21. Sione Vea - Tongan Rugby League


Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs