1 Jun 2017

Taiwanese president to visit Pacific

3:31 pm on 1 June 2017

The Taiwanese president Tsai Ing-wen is to visit Taiwan's six diplomatic allies in the Pacific in July according to reports from Taipei.

The President of Taiwan Tsai Ing-wen (R) greets Taiwanese people living in Nicaragua during her visit for the inauguration of President Daniel Ortega's fourth term in Managua, on January 9, 2017.

Photo: AFP

Taiwan News reports the president is planning to visit all six Pacific island countries which recognise Taiwan, Solomon Islands, the Marshall Islands, Palau, Nauru, Tuvalu and Kiribati.

The visit was confirmed by Taiwan's Ministry of Foreign Affairs yesterday.

The Pacific island countries make up a significant bloc of the 21 countries worldwide which recognise Taiwan.

Earlier this month the Fiji government closed its trade office in Taipei.

The office was seen as a defacto embassy for Fiji which along with most Pacific island countries recognises China.

Get the new RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs