Media Releases

The 9th Floor Double Winner at 40th New Zealand Radio Awards

Released at 8:44 am on 14 May 2018

RNZ’s popular documentary series The 9th Floor has won two major categories at the 40th New Zealand Radio Awards announced in Auckland tonight.

In the landmark series for radio and podcast, Morning Report presenter, Guyon Espiner, talks at length with five former Prime Ministers about political events and decisions that have shaped New Zealand over the past thirty years.

The New Zealand Radio Awards celebrate the very best of New Zealand radio, honouring personalities, programming, news and sports reporting, production and creativity within the industry. They are open to all commercial and non-commercial stations.

RNZ won five categories in the awards and recently retired radio legend, Lloyd Scott, was acknowledged by the industry for his services to broadcasting in a career spanning more than 50 years.

RNZ CEO, Paul Thompson, said the awards were a recognition of the value of journalism, news, and currents affairs that was in-depth, innovative, multi-platform, and which took risks.

'It’s great to see RNZ playing a leading role in a robust and thriving New Zealand radio market and that we can join with colleagues from across the industry to celebrate success. These awards are richly deserved and reflect our commitment to the craft of radio delivered on air, online, and via digital platforms."

Best Documentary
The 9th Floor
Tim Watkin, Guyon Espiner, Claire Eastham-Farrelly,
Rebekah Parsons-King, Damian Golfinopoulos

Best Daily or Weekly Feature
This Way Up Simon Morton, Alison Ballance, Richard Scott

Best Creative Feature
Voice of the Iceberg Alison Ballance, Marc Chesterman

Best News or Sports Journalist
Benedict Collins

Services to New Zealand Broadcasting
Lloyd Scott

Links to RNZ winners:


About Radio New Zealand