2 May 2015


From RNZ Music, 3:00 pm on 2 May 2015

Blur photo by Linda Brownlee
Blur (L-to-R: Dave Rowntree, Alex James, Graham Coxon and Damon Albarn / Photo by Linda Brownlee.

Quintessentially British band Blur are back with The Magic Whip, the quartet's first album since 2003's Think Tank, their first with guitarist Graham Coxon since he was booted out in 1999, and the first with producer Stephen Street since 1997's Blur.

It's also a record that very nearly didn't happen, the result of some downtime in Hong Kong which saw the band bang out 15 skeleton tracks in quick succession.

Drummer Dave Rowntree - pilot, solicitor and political activist talks to Sam Wicks about the unexpected return of the original Britpop multi-taskers 12 years after their last album, and how it very nearly did not happen.

Music Details

Artist: Blur
Song: Lonesome Street, Go Out, Ong Ong, There Are Too Many of Us, I Broadcast, New World Towers,
Composer: Damon Albarn, Graham Coxon, Alex James, Dave Rowntree
Album: The Magic Whip
Label: Parlophone, Warner Bros.