30 Jul 2016

The Mixtape: John Campbell

From RNZ Music, 2:00 pm on 30 July 2016

Since his student radio days hosting The Joy of Knowledge on Wellington's Radio Active, Checkpoint's John Campbell has been a passionate advocate for the music he loves, meeting music journalism by stealth to spotlight artists like The Chills, Tiny Ruins and The Pains of Being Pure at Heart.

In the first instalment of a new series of The Mixtape, John Campbell talks Sam Wicks through a C60's worth of handpicked tunes, joining the dots between Glaswegian post-punk outfit Orange Juice and New Jersey singer-songwriter Sharon Van Etten.

John Campbell in the RNZ Auckland studio recording The Mixtape.

Photo: RNZ / Claire Eastham-Farrelly

Music Details

Artist: Orange Juice
Song: Blue Boy
Composer: E.Collins
Album: Single
Label: Postcard Records

Artist: The Chills
Song: Submarine Bells
Composer: M.Phillips
Album: Submarine Bells
Label: Flying Nun, Slash

Artist: David Kilgour
Song: Today is Gonna Be Mine
Composer: D.Kilgour
Album: A Feather in the Engine
Label: Merge Records

Artist: The Pains of Being Pure at Heart
Song: Everything with You
Composer: K.Berman
Album: The Pains of Being Pure at Heart
Label: Slumberland

Artist: Frankie Cosmos
Song: On the Lips
Composer: G.Kline
Album: Next Thing
Label: Bayonet Records

Artist: Beyoncé
Song: Hold Up
Composer: T.Pentz, E.Koenig, B.Knowles, E.Haynie, J.Tillman, MNEK, Melo-X, Doc Pomus, M.Shuman, D.Way, A.Randolph, K.McConnell, Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Album: Lemonade
Label: Parkwood, Columbia

Artist: Anderson .Paak
Song: The Bird
Composer: A.Paak
Album: Malibu
Label: Steel Wool

Artist: Tiny Ruins
Song: You've Got the Kind of Nerve I Like
Composer: H.Fullbrook
Album: Some Were Meant For Sea
Label: Own Records

Artist: Sharon Van Etten
Song: Tarifa
Composer: S.Etten
Album: Are We There
Label: Jagjaguwar