Navigation for The Music Mix


Daniel, Vince, Earl, Ben and Sam of Sherpa.


They’re a young five piece band rehearsing at least twice a week running sets and working up new tunes. Their debut album Lesser Flamingo is a well turned collection of a dozen intricately constructed pop songs fired with punk influences and close guitar and vocal harmonies. We join Nick Atkinson after dark as he tracks down Sherpa, in an industrial part of Auckland City.

Skank Attack

Wellington band Skank Attack formed in 1985, broke up in 1988, and have just released their debut album 24 years after recording it with Nick Roughan of The Skeptics. Bassist Jeff Eden is based in London now, but drummer Steve Cochrane and guitarist and vocalist Phil Simpson told Kirsten Johnstone how these recordings came to see the light of day.


Ivy Rossiter and Grifters drummer Will Wood team up to release the debut Luckless album later this month. Rossiter plays a favourite track from the new record and describes the transition from solo artist to duo.

Luckless: Will and Ivy

Will Wood and Ivy Rossiter of Luckless. Photo: Jenna Todd.