18 Nov 2014

The Sampler for 18 November 2014

From The Sampler, 7:30 pm on 18 November 2014

New Basement Tapes Roof JP
The New Basement Tapes: Marcus Mumford, Rhiannon Giddens, Elvis Costello, Jim James and Taylor Goldsmith.
Photo Supplied.

This week Nick Bollinger discusses the release – almost 50 years after they were made – of Bob Dylan and the Band’s Complete Basement Tapes, and a tribute to those sessions by an all-star lineup calling themselves The New Basement Tapes.

Music Details:

Bob Dylan Complete Basement TapesArtist: Bob Dylan and The Band
Songs: Quinn The Eskimo, I Shall Be Released, I’m Not There, Wild Wolf, Jelly Bean, All You Have To Do Is Dream, A Fool Such As I, I Don’t Hurt Anymore
Album: The Complete Basement Tapes
Label: Columbia


New Basement TapesArtist: The New Basement Tapes
Songs: Stranger, Card Shark, Florida Key, Married To My Hack, Lost On The River #12, Down On The Bottom, Nothing To It, Spanish Mary
Album: Lost On The River
Label: Harvest


Get the new RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes

Subscribe to The Sampler

Podcast (MP3) Oggcast (Vorbis)